General Medicine

The department of medicine is one of the premier departments of M.O.S.C medical college. Patients get referred to this department mainly from the three districts of Ernakulam,  Kottayam and the hilly district of Idukki. Besides,  this department also caters to the local population. Being a major referral hospital east of the metropolitan area of Ernakulum this department serves as a tertiary care center for many hospitals from the neighboring towns and villages. In addition to patient care the department is also involved in teaching M.B.B.S students. There are four medical units headed by experienced faculty. In 2011 the department was upgraded as a post-graduate training center by the Indian Medical Council.


History of General Medicine Department

MOSC Medical mission hospital was started as rural Christian “Mission Hospital” on 14th September 1970. At the Inception of Hospital Dr. P. Koshy from CMC Vellore took charge as the Chief Physician. Subsequently the department was served by eminent doctors like Dr. Paul Puthooran,  Dr. Joy K. Peter (Late),  Dr. George T. Ninan,  Dr. Mariamma Kuriakose,  Dr. T.A. Subramanyam,  Dr. Eapen Punnoose,  Dr. Arun I Cheeran and Dr. C. K. Eapen (of these doctors Dr. C.K. Eapen,  present Medical Director and Prof. Dr. Mariamma Kuriakose presently Professor of Medicine are still serving the department.
The Mission Hospital has been upgraded to Medical College during 2002 under the self financing Christian Medical Colleges of Kerala state. Prof. Dr. V.K. Lakshmanakumar took over the charge of first HOD of Medicine. Subsequently four more Medicine Professors Prof. Dr. V.K. Haridas (Late),  Prof. Dr. Vishwanadhan,  Prof. Dr. Kunjamma George and Prof. Dr. T.S. Francis joined the department. 31st March 2016 Prof. Dr. V.K. Lakshmanakumar retired from service and Prof. Dr. T.S. Francis become HOD of Medicine with the following staff.

Department Activities

Our Facilities

© Copyright 2021, MOSC All rights reserved.